The fourth and final event in the Provincial XCO cup series was held on the 6th of June at the fun, but challenging urban XCO track at the Baysville school in the centre of East London.

The day was perfect and the track offered the riders a little bit of everything, from a rock garden, to a log garden, a new pump section, a gap jump, plenty of mud and even a set of stairs!!


(Many thanx for these photos – DeanVenish)

The event was well attended with many cyclists making the trip from Port Elizabeth which contributed strongly to the great atmosphere and in making the day of cycling absolutely fantastic. Racing started with the youngsters, Nippers and Sprogs, who set the track alight with some fierce competitive riding. From the start, Marcell Swartz (Sprog) set the pace and streaked away with Alex Fanicchi (Nipper) following about a minute behind, followed by Lourens Spies (Sprog) and TeoBosazza (Nipper). This is also the order in which they finished in their respective categories, with Matthew Wylie (Nipper) and Simon Ferreira (Sprog) completing the podium positions. In the young ladies categories, Megan Emslie set great times for the Nipper girl’s category finishing fourth overall in the Nippers, with Sorina Venter winning the Sprog girl’s category comfortably from new comer Madison Mann.

As the day progressed, the muddy areas of the track became a little softer and muddier, making the track that little more challenging for the older age categories. From the start the pace was fast and furious, with Kyle Bradford setting a blistering pace, and in the process also the fastest lap of the day (and the current track record)! All the categories were hotly contested with fast times set in each. The Elites were burning up the track, racing at average speeds of over 16km an hour, on a tight and technical track!! Notwithstanding his fast pace, Kyle was chased all the way by JontiRosenstrauch for the first lap and then by Jason Peach, Grant Daly and Liam Venter, who were all lapping less than 30 seconds a lap slower. Jason Peach put on a spurt in laps three and four and made up some time, but the effort cost him dearly with Kyle pulling away in the last two laps. Kyle won the race, with Jason Peach in second, followed by Grant Daly – who won the Junior category.

The Junior men category was closely contested with less than 30 seconds splitting Grant and second place Liam Venter. However, the Youth men’s category was, as always, the hottest contested, with less than 2 minutes splitting the top four riders. Here, the current series leader – Bradley Harrington took top honours, followed by Josh Doubell, GerritRautenbach and Adriaan Venter. In the younger category – Sub Juniors, Cejay Bosman rode a flawless race, winning comfortably from Matthew Tonkin, who has been concentrating on his rugby. In the ladies sections, we had some fast riding by Kelsey van Schoor and Robyn Emslie, who both won their respective age categories.

Our slightly more mature riders set a great example of tenacity and sportsmanship, with Francois Smith enjoying the track so much that he completed a full additional lap – after winning the Vet category from Andrew Emslie!! Thomas Hammer completed his four laps to win the Masters category.

See you all at the Provincial Championships in Port Elizabeth on the 4th of July

Full Results here

More Event pic’s here